The Smallest Suppressed Revolver in the World

Here’s something that you don’t see so often…or not at all.

A couple of weeks ago I was in a conversation with a Silencer Manufacturer that had received a request to try to suppress the Freedom Arms Mini Revolver from a Gun Shop out in Florida. They were so backed up producing Silencers that they didn’t feel like they needed to take on another project and they recommended me.  The gun was sent to me and I pondered on it for awhile.

The factory barrel was much to thin to attempt to thread so I took it off and made another barrel using a cut off from a Ruger 10/22 barrel that I had shortened and threaded for a suppressor.

The barrel threads are tiny…48 threads per inch. I could barely even see them. Taking my time and going slow, using the digital readout on my lathe, I got it done with a nice snug fit into the revolver. I actually lengthen the barrel to cylinder gap, knowing that the tighter is was the less sound and pressure could escape and hopefully make it as quiet as possible.

The other end of the barrel was easy, just the standard 1/2″-28 threads that are universal for .22 cans made here in the states. I left the barrel much thicker than the original and I had to produce a new cylinder pin because the factory one was just to thick to work. I made the cylinder pin out of a piece of  1/8″ stainless welding rod and it worked great.

I screwed the barrel in and I thought it would look better with flats on each side of the barrel so I put it in the milling machine and made it happen. I used a 3/16″ end mill and stopped short of the threads, leaving a small flange for the suppressor to seat against.

To be honest, all we were looking for was to make it “hearing safe”. We knew that there would be gas escaping from the cylinder gap so we really didnt expect much to begin with. These little revolvers will make your ears bleed because they are so loud due to the short barrel and they have a loud bark.

I used the Hunterown Arms “B” suppressor which is short and designed to be fired wet and I was pleasantly surprised when we loaded it up and shot it.

It met our goal of being hearing safe and the whole thing fits in your pocket. It’s a cool little package really. It seems to be a love/hate affair with people. Most of them love the way it looks, a few bad mouth it because they think its ridiculous to attempt to quiet a revolver. I did too until I built this one and after shooting it I definitely think its worth it.

Here’s a picture of what the custom barrel looks like.

Custom Mini Revolver c 3

Here’s a picture of it in my hand. Sometimes you just have to think out of the box. Its pleasant to shoot without any hearing protection, so we met the goal that we were trying for. Plus…its just plain cute.

Little gun in the hand

About Bob

I'm a retired Machinist. I worked at the local Nuclear Plant making tools and things. I also have an 07 FFL as well as an 02 SOT, which allows me to build some cool stuff. I'm a part time Deputy Marshal for a small town close by, it keeps the adrenaline flowing once in a while. I sell suppressor's, do custom rifle builds and some totally off the wall stuff.
This entry was posted in builds, Guns and stuff, Outrageously Cool Stuff to Shoot, suppressors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

