The Packable AR-15 9MM Rifle

There’s a new company out called Quarter Circle that is building AR receivers in 9mm, .40 and .45 ACP from the ground up. They take Glock Magazines and it sounded good so I took a gamble and ordered both a receiver and the bolt which was cut for the Glock mags.

I’m glad that I took that gamble. Once I assembled everything in the typical AR fashion, I really expected it to be problematic. AR’s in 9mm don’t exactly have a stellar history of working without lots of tinkering and I expected this one to be no different.

I had to fabricate a 9mm barrel out of a barrel blank because I could not find an AR barrel in the 9MM caliber in the short length that I was looking for. I decided on a 5″ length and made it a bit heavier profile than most because my intention was to hang a suppressor on it. I threaded it for 5/8-24 on the front just for that.

While I was building it, I thought that putting a Huntertown DOLOS unit on it might make it more interesting. It can be broken down in just a couple of seconds and it could be packed virtually anywhere. A patrol bag, a bug out bag, in a survival kit, its short and its light and most of all…its accurate.

So I loaded up a few magazines using 3.5 grains of Red Dot and 147 grain plated bullets. Since I did plan on shooting it suppressed, I wanted hard hitting bullets that were fairly quiet.

Imagine my surprise when I shot the magazine dry. No malfunctions, no mis-feeds, no failures to extract…nothing. It ran 100% and it did it both slow fire and as fast as I could shoot it. The recoil was pretty much non existent, in fact I shot it one handed just to see how it would handle. This thing would be great for women and children. Its was past hearing safe with the can on it and its as fun to shoot as any rifle out there.

So, we now have a rifle that can be made ready to fire in less than 5 seconds. Think about that. In the time it takes you to read this sentence, you could pull it out of a pack, assemble it, charge it and be cocked, locked and ready to rock.

Quarter Circle Ten has a winner here. The lower does exactly what it is supposed to with none of the known issues that other conversion kits have. It wont be my last one. Up next is the .45 lower.

AR 9MMc

AR 9mm 2c

Here it is in my patrol bag. How cool is it to have a rifle that you could pack, assemble really quick and be able to use the magazines that you had on your belt?

Packable AR 9mm

About Bob

I'm a retired Machinist. I worked at the local Nuclear Plant making tools and things. I also have an 07 FFL as well as an 02 SOT, which allows me to build some cool stuff. I'm a part time Deputy Marshal for a small town close by, it keeps the adrenaline flowing once in a while. I sell suppressor's, do custom rifle builds and some totally off the wall stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Packable AR-15 9MM Rifle

  1. David Mitchell Sr says:

    THAT IS SWEEEEEET!!!

Leave a Reply

