The Ruger M77 7.62×39 with a twist…

I’ve been hankering for a bolt action 7.62x 39. With the many rounds of surplus ammo that I have, it just seemed like a natural thing to do. As long as it was accurate, it could be used in a pinch for deer hunting or something if conventional ammo became hard to get due to economic factors or politicians pissing their pants and making stupid statements that caused the gun shop shelves to become empty. Its happened before, and with the yahoos we have running government right now, I’m sure it will happen again.

So, after hunting for one for a few months, it became apparent that they were as scarce as hens teeth. Ruger had made them as well as Remington and CZ, but they all ceased production after a few years due to slow sales. So. it was off to the auction sites I went. Eventually I got one off of Gun Broker.

It was a Ruger M77. It was a sweet little rifle and it had the best out of the box trigger I ever squeezed on a Ruger, which isn’t known for their good trigger. The rifle was smaller than normal, it was Ruger’s version of the Rem Mountain Rifle, the Model 7, which is still popular today.

The only unfortunate thing was that it came with a pencil thin barrel. Thinking that at some point I might want to mount a suppressor on it, that pencil thin barrel was totally unacceptable. So, I knew right off I would have to swap it out.

I had a Shilen match grade barrel blank sitting in the shop that I had intended to use for a .300 Blackout build. It was a .308 barrel with a 1 in 8 twist. Since the barrels for the 7.62’s are generally .310 to .312 I wasn’t sure if that would cut it. So, after much reading and some discussion on the net, I came to the conclusion that it would be OK to use, in fact some people were claiming stellar accuracy.

So the old barrel came off and the new one went on. I made it with a varmint profile which gave me plenty of room for the standard 5/8-24 threads and a good shoulder to screw the suppressor against. To protect the threads and give it a custom look. I built a muzzle brake for it…not that it needs a muzzle brake but I figured I might as well kill two birds with one stone.

I had also hoped that this barrel would take the NOE 247 grain custom .312 mold that I had got off of the Cast Boolits website. That bullet was custom made for the Blackouts and it seemed to work well on them.

So, once I got the barrel chambered and head spaced, I took it off and sent it to a friend of mine to be blued. As it turned out, that bluing was a perfect match for the Ruger. Most people think its an original barrel.

Once I got it assembled and scoped off to the range I went.

I first tried various Milsurp stuff. Russian,Chinese, Yugo, and some stuff that I had no idea where it came from.
It shot all of it extremely well, in fact this is the most accurate rifle that I have seen.

Apparently stuffing .311 ammo into a .308 barrel only had the effect of making it very, very accurate. I was ecstatic.

Next, it was on to the cast bullets. Once again, this thing piles them right on top of each other. Since they were designed to be subsonic, there was no leading what so ever. With a Huntertown Arms .308 Kestral suppressor on it, it was as quiet as any Blackout and very accurate.

This thing is accurate with any thing that is shot through it. Using a 7.62×39 die with a .308 sizer on it, even the .308 bullets are very accurate. It seems like this gun just likes to shoot and it doesn’t really care what it shoots. Its a rare breed indeed. and lots of fun.

Its also nice to know that if bullets start disappearing from shelves due to political reasons, I can cast up as many as I want and keep shooting.

This is working on becoming my favorite rifle. The more I shoot it, the more I like it.m77 3 ce

I told you this rifle shot well. Here’s proof. Best I can do with that scope.
TArget  7.62x39 249g lead. 7.5g AA5c

Here’s a picture of Son #1 shooting the rifle. He likes it too.
Rye Shooting the Ruger 7.62

About Bob

I'm a retired Machinist. I worked at the local Nuclear Plant making tools and things. I also have an 07 FFL as well as an 02 SOT, which allows me to build some cool stuff. I'm a part time Deputy Marshal for a small town close by, it keeps the adrenaline flowing once in a while. I sell suppressor's, do custom rifle builds and some totally off the wall stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

