The GSG MP5 .22

GSG (German Sport Guns) is notorious for making clones of popular weapons. Their GSG MP5 clone in the .22 version seems to be a good seller here. When I first saw one, I knew it’d be a hit. Having shot the HK MP5 SD3, I figured that a gun that was close to the original but chambered in .22 would be a natural.

I’d been on the hunt for one for several months and never could be in the right spot at the right time. When one came in to the local gun shops, they never stuck around for long, they would usually be sold the first day that they came in. My turn came when one of my friends gave me a call. He had bid on two different guns on Gun Broker, thinking that he would get outbid on one of them and when he woke up the next day he had won both of them. After a short conversation, I agreed to take it off his hands for what he had in it.

I got, took it out of the box and shot the heck out of it. It was great, accurate and very reliable. It came with a fake suppressor on it, to give it the “cool” look but I just couldn’t warm up to it. Before long, I had it in the shop torn down and I put it in the lathe to thread it for the standard 1/2-28 threads that are common to .22 suppressors.

The barrel was a bit small, being .470 diameter, so I cut the threads a bit shallow in order to for the suppressor to be a good snug fit. At first I mounted a Huntertown Arms Guardian to it and although it worked well, it still didn’t have the look that I wanted.

So, back to the lathe it went. This time I cut the barrel down to a length that gave me about 1/2″ past the forearm and rethreaded it. Now, I had to SBR it, due to the fact that the barrel was now less than the legal length of 16″. A Form 2 faxed to the ATF took care of that and made it all legal like.

Once that was done, I instead used the Huntertown Arms 5.56 Kestral. This one was designed to suppress an AR-15, but being user serviceable, it was just the ticket for the GSG. It gave it the classic look that I wanted and an added bonus was that due to the larger diameter and the fact that it had more volume, it was even quieter than the Guardian. The weight wasn’t too bad and the predominate sound when shooting it with CCI Subsonics is the bolt opening and closing. This thing is accurate and fun to shoot.

If you want the look of the HK MP5, with out the high dollar cost of both the rifle and the ammo it uses, this is the way to go. Its been a real crowd pleaser at the range, and its the gun that everyone wants to shoot. Click on the picture for a better look at it. You might like it.

About Bob

I'm a retired Machinist. I worked at the local Nuclear Plant making tools and things. I also have an 07 FFL as well as an 02 SOT, which allows me to build some cool stuff. I'm a part time Deputy Marshal for a small town close by, it keeps the adrenaline flowing once in a while. I sell suppressor's, do custom rifle builds and some totally off the wall stuff.
This entry was posted in Guns and stuff, Outrageously Cool Stuff to Shoot. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

