The Camo-dipped .300 Blackout

Here is a picture of a friend of mine displaying a rifle that I built for a customer. Its a Remington 700 that was rebarreled with a Shilen match grade blank that was chamberd for the .300 AAC Blackout, a cartridge that has taken off like a wildfire. This one lays in a Knoxx Comp Stock and sports a Leupold Scope that has both the red dot in it and a graduated reticle. It’s pretty cool and is right at home for this gun.

I had heard that some guys down the road had invested in a Hydro-dipping operation and were dipping car parts, turkey calls, hard hats, and trying just about anything. I talked them into dipping a gun for me. Since they were still in the learning curve and they really couldnt guarantee how it would look, they agreed to do this one for free. Were were also going to dip the suppressor that is on it, but the owner had second thoughts, since he used it on other guns. He thought it might look weird sitting on a plain jane gun and I had to agree, he was probably right.

We dipped the stock, the action and barrel, the rings, the scope and it really came out great. That gun has got lots of comments, all of them good and since then I have had several inquirys as to orders.
I do plan on dipping the suppressors on the next one to match…just because its a rarity. I understand that some cans get hot, really hot and might smoke the finish on it, but being a bolt action hunting gun, I dont really see this as being an issue on a fairly sedate cartridge like a subsonic .300 Blackout.

This is going to be the owners deer and hog hunting machine. So far, the first indications of it being shot are that its pretty accurate.

Yes, I know that my friend aint much on the eyes, but all of the pretty girls that work there were out to lunch. Better luck next time.

About Bob

I'm a retired Machinist. I worked at the local Nuclear Plant making tools and things. I also have an 07 FFL as well as an 02 SOT, which allows me to build some cool stuff. I'm a part time Deputy Marshal for a small town close by, it keeps the adrenaline flowing once in a while. I sell suppressor's, do custom rifle builds and some totally off the wall stuff.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

