The Suppressed Ruger 10/22 Rifle

Today I thought I’d try something different. I took a “bull barrel” from a Ruger .22 rifle and decided to make an integral suppressor. I had never done this before but I didn’t think it would be that big of a deal other than time spent so I just did it.

It took a few hours, drilling out the barrel. Since gun barrels are heat-treated 4140 steel, I had to go slow to keep from burning up my drill bit. The barrel was .920 in diameter, so I used an 11/16 drill to drill 6 inches deep into the barrel. This happens to be a tap drill size for a 3/4 -16 thread, which is what I threaded the cap to. Might as well make it easy on myself. I used what is known as a “monolithic ” baffle stack, meaning that the guts of the thing are just one piece. It slips into the bore of the barrel and it tensioned by the cap.

The whole thing worked great. It was quiet enough that you can hear the bullet striking the target and you can actually hear the firing pin slap on the empty chamber. It’s pretty cool really, I think this could be the ultimate squirrel killing machine. I used CCI subsonic ammo, it seems to work the best and is pretty accurate.

Here’s a couple of videos of it being fired. It isn’t me shooting it, but its one of my redneck buddies that always seems to volunteer for such things.

Heres another view from the back. It’s a bit quieter because you can’t hear the bolt making as much racket..

Overall, I’d say it wasnt a bad day out.

About Bob

I'm a retired Machinist. I worked at the local Nuclear Plant making tools and things. I also have an 07 FFL as well as an 02 SOT, which allows me to build some cool stuff. I'm a part time Deputy Marshal for a small town close by, it keeps the adrenaline flowing once in a while. I sell suppressor's, do custom rifle builds and some totally off the wall stuff.
This entry was posted in Guns and stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

